Today happens to be John O’Hara’s 108th Birth Anniversary. Born on the 31st of January 1905, he was among the greatest contemporary writers of American Fiction of the early/mid- twentieth Century.
I’m currently reading his BUtterfield 8. A novel based on a real life call girl of the 1930’s, Starr Faithfull, whose dead body was found washed ashore at Long Beach, New York. Her death till date is an unsolved mystery. I’ve watched the movie starring Elizabeth Taylor a few times. BUtterfield 8 (1960), is set at the time the movie was made, i.e. the late 50’s, and many a characters from the book have been omitted in film version, and there is lot more about Weston Liggett & family in the novel. Liz Taylor won the Best Actress Oscar for her portrayal of this classy call girl, for a movie she didn’t want to do in the first place.

John O’Hara’s BUtterfield 8, published in 1935, happens to be my first O’Hara novel. Although I have read some other works by him. I remember reading a short story called Graven Image, some years ago. But to be quite honest, I don’t recall what that story was about. Obviously not one of my favourites among short fiction. But I am enjoying BUtterfield 8.

BOOKISH NUWAN

